Adding & Removing Friends

Follow

Adding friends is an important part of the Venmo experience. While you don’t have to be friends with someone on Venmo to pay them, it helps ensure that your payments are going to the right place (and helps your friends find you)!

Adding friends

When you sign up for Venmo (or right before you use a feature for the first time), you’ll be asked to grant Venmo permission to access the contacts on your phone. If you allow access, we’ll look for any friends that are already on Venmo and automatically add them to your friend list (and you’ll be added to theirs).

Another option for adding friends is to link Venmo to your Facebook account. If you connect your Facebook account to Venmo, we’ll access your friend list (along with your email address, profile picture and public profile) to automatically add friends as well.

You can also choose to add friends manually by searching for their username or name in your search bar, open up their profile and add them as a friend.

Removing friends

To remove a friend on Venmo (from the app or web), all you need to do is navigate to your friend’s Venmo profile. On the web, you’ll see a “Remove friend” option on the right side of the page. In the app, simply tap the “Friends” checkmark  > Remove friend and you’re all set!

Last updated:

Have more questions? Thoughts or suggestions about this article? Let us know!

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful