Can I add a tip when I pay a business?
Business owners decide whether to accept tips for payments sent to their profile. If you’re prompted to add a tip, you can select a preset amount or enter a custom amount to add to your payment total. Please note, the value of your tip can not exceed the lower of 5 times the original payment amount or $1000.
The full amount of your payment (plus any tip you’ve added) will be charged to a single payment method.
How can I pay a business profile?
Paying a business profile is as easy as paying your friends on Venmo. There are just a few important things to keep in mind to make sure your payment is sent to the right place:
- Search for the business profile using their name or username. Phone numbers and email addresses can’t be used to locate or pay a business on Venmo.
- After initiating a search, you’ll see a few results for “Top Businesses”, which will only include business profiles matching your query. You can tap on “See more businesses” or select the “Businesses” tab from the results page to view additional businesses. The “People” tab will only show personal profiles.
- If the business you want to pay has shared their QR code, you can alternatively tap “Scan” at the bottom of your screen to scan their code. If the business has created a preset QR code, you’ll see an amount pre-filled for the payment on your screen. Otherwise, you can enter the amount you’ve agreed to pay and add a tip or relevant discounts before sending.
When you pay a business profile on Venmo, you’ll have an opportunity to customize the payment note and thank the business or provide a testimonial. If you share payment activity publicly or with friends, they’ll see your payment highlighted in the Venmo feed.
If you experience any issues when trying to pay a business on Venmo, we recommend first reaching out to the business to see if they have more information. If the issue persists, contact us so we can take a closer look.
Can I edit the payment note after I pay a business profile?
Payments you send to business profiles are automatically highlighted in the feed if you choose to share your activity publicly or with friends, so be sure to think about what to include in the note before completing your payment.
If you scanned a business’s QR code to pay, you’ll have a chance to edit and share your payment note after completing the payment. Once your note is shared, that’s it!
How can I update who sees payments I send to business profiles?
You can always choose to update the privacy settings for an individual payment before sending it. To do so, look for and tap on “Private”, “Friends”, or “Public” above the “Pay” button. From here, you can choose a different privacy setting for that specific payment.
Privacy settings can also be updated after a payment is completed, or you can adjust your default privacy preference in Settings. You can learn more about sharing and privacy on Venmo here.
How can I get refunded for a payment I sent to a business profile?
All you’ll need to do is contact the business to request a refund. It’s best to contact the business through any existing communications you may have with them, or you can locate their contact information on their Venmo profile.
Refunds are sent back to the original method used for payment. If you paid a business using money in your Venmo account, your refund will be added to your account once it’s issued by the business. If you paid using a bank account or card, please allow up to 5 business days for a refund to process.
Why am I seeing a business feature?
Venmo is providing the opportunity for business profiles to be featured in your feed. We are always looking for beneficial ways to highlight local businesses near you. Since you chose to share your location with Venmo, you are seeing this business feature and may see more in the future.
When viewing these features in the app you will be able to block the business or report an inappropriate post right from the feed. You always have control over your settings and can find more information about your location settings in our Help Center.