We all know that privacy is a big concern with technology. There are a number of different settings that you can customize when it comes to sharing your payments with friends.
You can set the privacy level for each individual payment, right from the payment screen. On the web, check the appropriate boxes and select who to share with from the drop down. The iOS and Android apps have the same options available on the payment screen as well.
Just so you know: payments will still be visible in your personal Venmo feed, so that you have a record of all transactions that you've been involved in. If you've set the privacy level to Private, we will not share it anywhere other than your own personal feed and if you do choose to share, we will always keep the payment amounts private.
You can set up your Venmo account so that all future payments are private. To do so, please follow these instructions:
- Log in to venmo.com
- Navigate to Settings --> Privacy --> Sharing
- Choose your desired settings
- Save Settings
Hide your past transactions
You have the option to make all of your past transactions private. On the iOS app, navigate to Settings -> Privacy & Sharing -> Past Transactions -> Make All Private. This will set all of your past payments to private. Again, the payments will remain in your personal feed but will only be visible to you and the person involved with those payments. Please note that this is permanent and we cannot undo this action.