After you pay for a purchase with Venmo, you will be prompted with the option to split or share your purchase. You can also split or share by choosing Transactions from the personal transactions feed (the “$☰” icon to the right of your friends feed) in the Venmo app.
You can send charge requests to split a purchase with one or many users, and you can change the amount requested from each user so the purchase isn’t evenly split. You’ll be able to see the total amount you’ll request as you change the amount requested from each user, and whether the requested total is above or below the split amount. (Any split transaction will not affect your original payment amount.) You also have the option of excluding yourself from the split calculation. When you split a purchase, you’ll send charge requests to other users. The other users must accept the request in order to complete the payment.
As with payments on Venmo, you can set the privacy level for each individual purchase. All purchases default to the Private privacy setting so you can choose which you want to share and when. You can share a purchase (which will change the privacy settings on the purchase) by tapping on any purchase listed in your Transactions tab to expand it. As long as the purchase’s privacy setting is Private, we will not share it anywhere other than your own personal feed. If you do choose to share, we will always keep the purchase amount private. To locate a pending payment request from a split, tap the “☰" icon at the top of the app, and then tap “Incomplete.” From here you can cancel a split request or remind the other user(s) about the request.