Has your group served its purpose? Learn how to leave the group or delete it altogether.
How do I leave a group?
Before leaving a group, you should consider hiding it instead. If you leave a group, you won’t be able to view any group activity or add any more expenses. If you hide a group, you can unhide it later if needed.
If you’re sure you want to leave a group, please remember that you can only do so after you’ve settled all payments due to and due from members of that group, or removed yourself from those expenses. If you’re the group owner, you’ll need to transfer ownership before leaving.
Once you’ve taken care of those things, you can leave the group in the Venmo app:
- Go to your Groups hub in the Me tab
- In the relevant group, tap the Settings gear in the top right
- Scroll down to Leaving the group and tap Leave
- Confirm you want to leave the group by tapping Leave group
Once you leave the group, you won’t be able to view the group activity. You also won’t be able to add or edit any expenses.
If you ever want to re-join the group, you’ll need to get an invite from a remaining member.
How do I hide a group?
You can only hide a group if you don’t have anything due to or due from that group. If you’re all paid up, you can hide a group in the Venmo app:
- Go to your Groups hub on the Me tab
- Tap the relevant group
- Tap the Settings gear in the top right
- Tap Hide under Group visibility
- Confirm you want to hide the group
You can unhide the group later by tapping View hidden groups in the Groups hub, tapping that group, then tapping Unhide this group.
How do I delete a group?
You can delete a group if you’re the last member.
If a group is deleted, no one will be able to review the group activity. No one will be able to add or edit any expenses.
You can hide the group instead if you think you may need access to it in the future. If you’re sure no former members will need to the group, you can delete the group by tapping Leaving the group in the Groups settings.