Once you make a payment to a registered user the funds are sent to the recipient’s Venmo balance for them to use. At this time, it’s not possible to cancel a payment that’s been sent to a registered user in Venmo. If your payment indicates you paid a “New User”, check out this article for info on how to cancel - otherwise:
The easiest way to get the funds back is to simply have your friend send you a payment for the same amount. Once the funds are in your Venmo balance, you can transfer those funds back to your bank account.
Only in instances when the funds are still in Venmo’s system, can we reverse the funds with the recipient’s permission. If the recipient still sees the funds available in their Venmo balance, please have them reach out to us directly authorizing a reversal and we would be happy to take care of the rest.
It is worth noting, that in some rare cases, there may be a problem processing a payment. If we identify an issue, funds may not be available to the recipient right away and may cause a bank transfer to be delayed or blocked. If there is a problem processing your payment, a notification will be sent to you and/or the recipient via email, and you may need to choose a different payment method outside of Venmo.
If you’re looking to cancel a payment that you sent to the wrong person, please see this article for further details and instructions.
You can follow these links if you’re looking to cancel:
If you have questions about buying or selling items with Venmo, please see this article for additional details.