If you’ve registered your business profile as a sole proprietor, any payment methods available on your personal profile will also be available on your business profile. Check out the Help Center articles for Payments & Requests or Transfers to Bank if you need help, and make sure to check out Instant Transfers FAQ if you’re in a hurry.
Paying with QR Code & Sharing your Profile
When a customer is paying you in person, the easiest way for them to find you is scanning your Venmo QR code. You can find your code by tapping “Scan” at the bottom of the app and then tapping “My Code.” Here you can also share your QR code via text message, email, printing, and more. You can learn more about QR codes for business profiles here.
Your business profile (either sole proprietor or registered business) has the same payment limits and bank transfer limits as your personal profile. Your payment limits are shared across your business and personal profiles, so any payments you make on either profile will count toward your overall payment limits. For specific information about payment limits, please visit this page. Sole proprietors will share the same card limit as your personal profile, while registered businesses will have a separate card limit.
If you’ve verified your identity on Venmo, you’ll have the option to request a balance transfer between your personal and business accounts. Doing so is easy:
- Tap the ☰ icon at the top of the app
- Tap “Transfer Balance”
- Tap “Transfer to (your personal or business username)” and follow the onscreen prompts
Successful balance transfers should be available on the other profile within moments. There are no limits to how often or how much you can transfer between profiles.
Please note, transfers are reviewed which may result in delays or funds being frozen or removed from your Venmo account. Learn more here.
If you’d like to return a payment to a customer who paid you, you have a few options.
First, you can make a new payment for the same amount back to the other user. If the full amount of your payment is available on your Venmo balance (and if you’ve verified your identity), it will be funded by your Venmo balance. Otherwise, the full amount will be charged to your external payment method. This payment would look like a new, distinct payment in your feed and the customer’s feed, and you can add any relevant information (like “Refund for…”) in the payment note.
If the funds are still available in your Venmo account, Support can also manually reverse the payment for you. In this case, the reversal would not appear in your Venmo feed or customer’s feed, but the payment would have a “Canceled” note in your statement and the customer’s statement.
Check out our full article about accessing and downloading an account statement here. You’ll have the option to view and download the transaction history for either your personal or business profile.
Why do business profile payments display more information than peer to peer payments?
Displaying more information about a business transaction (and the respective seller) allows for higher visibility and more discoverability through word of mouth. Information displayed in the feed can help you discover who your family and friends are transacting with.
Who can see this additional information about these individual business profile payments?
These transactions will only display the additional information in your friend’s feed. They will appear the same way as a peer to peer payment in the public feed.
These purchases can be set to “private”. You can read more about customizing your payment audience here.